top of page

The Lydolph

As I said previously, this post is entirely dedicated to the ice cream cone that I received at the beach. It needs an entirely new post to cover it completely. As we drove to the shore, Julian asked me if I can eat a lot of ice cream. Now, being a smart man, I said yes. You never decline ice cream. "Are you sure? This is the biggest ice cream I have ever seen, even I haven't been able to finish one."

"Yeah, I got this. Trust me."

Boy, was I wrong. So naive.

We walked into Lydolph's Isbar to get "The Lydolph." Here it is:

-One XL waffle cone

-One scoop of ice cream (nougat)

-One Flødebol (Danish chocolate-covered mashmallow)

-Filled cone with soft-ice (vanilla)

-Two scoops of ice cream (marzipan and banana)

-One Flødebol

-TORNADO. OF. SOFT-ICE.

-Dry chocolate powder topping

This thing was bigger than a small child's head. Literally. It was bigger than Isabel's head. Probably heavier too, at LEAST 1.5 kilos.

12:50- The saga begins. I took my first bite outside of the shop. I was feeling good. This thing was heavy, but I was hungry and ready to take on the challenge. Of course I had the kids and Camilla there to back me up if I needed it, but I wasn't about to give in.

13:02- We were in the rose gardens outside of the beach and I had broken through. I made it through the top of the soft-ice and you can see the chocolate top of the Flødebol. People are staring.

13:20- I have taken down the edges of the soft-ice and eaten the Flødebol. At this point, you can begin to see the bites taken out of the two top scoops of ice cream. The banana is too strong and the marzipan tastes like sadness. My pace is slowing down...

13:25- My ice cream eating has almost slowed down to a stop. I have gotten through most of the soft-ice and most of the ice cream... but there is still another layer of soft-ice below this. I lick at the ice cream slowly, just to keep the pace going. Julian mocks me. I will not submit. I start laughing out of shock.

13:35- The kids have gone off to play at the nearby playground, and left Julian to watch me suffer. We get up and start to walk. The slow walk burns just enough calories for me to keep going. I feel a second wind. I finish the last batch of soft-ice and get to the Flødebol at the bottom. I am almost there. Dedication at its finest. We join the kids at the play area, and I need to lean on the fence for support. The battle is almost over

13:50- We make back to the parking lot after leaving the play area. I am almost there. I tell the family to wait. We need to do this. Finish the fight.

13:55- The last bite. I have won. No help. Just me. Man vs. Ice Cream. Victory was mine, and it tastes like vanilla... Like too much vanilla...

FINAL TIME: 1 hour, 5 minutes.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page