top of page

Bakken

Thursday was a national holiday in Denmark, so everyone had the day off because of Ascension Day. That means that Julian, Camilla, Izzy, and Sophie were all free to go out and have fun in the sun! Yes, the sun was actually out for once this semester, and we made the most of it.

We stopped off in Hellerup for some "shopping," or that is at least what Julian told the kids. Well, we were shopping for icea cream. This ice cream cone deserves its own blog post, so I will exclude it from this one. It is quite a lot to leave out, quite possibly the largest ice cream cone I have ever consumed... So I will redirect you there.

We got ice cream and went to the Hellerup beach, which was some beautiful small stretch of sand and an outcropping of rocks for you to sit on. We went to the docks and sat down, feeding the ocean-ducks, and avoiding getting smacked in the head by children fishing, using organic ham as bait. I won't tell them if you don't.

Afterwards we left the beach and were going back to the car when I spotted a familiar logo... It was Chubb!! My lovely Mother works for an insurance company called Chubb and told me just last week that there is a branch in Copenhagen and she would be visiting some time next year! I had to pose with the sign for her.

We drove a block or two down the road to a play area for the kids. Keep in mind, I had just eaten a metric ton ice cream and the kids wanted me to run around with them. I wanted to throw up, but I powered through. We played on the slides, jungle gyms, obstacle courses, tire swings, and most importantly, the hammock. I needed to relax after the sheer caloric intake.

When the kids were ready to go, we stepped out of the play area and drove over to Bakken. Bakken is the oldest amusement park in world, and it is still going strong today! It has tons of rides, games, stalls, restaurants, and people! Tons of people. It was very fun to spend the day with the family at the park, and I even got to see Marli there as we met up shortly. I went on a few rides with the kids: a coaster/shooting ride with Izzy, a fun house with Izzy, and a carousel with Sophie. And the girls went on a kangaroo ride together for the first time and had the biggest smiles on their faces. We had a great time all day, and it was time to go home after a long day outside.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page