top of page

Notes on Danish Culture

"Don't be sorry, be happy. It will work out better for you."

As I was walking to the train station after a day in the city, I saw a group of Green Peace volunteers. They said something to me in Danish and I quickly replied "No, I'm sorry." What he said next hit me pretty hard. The man did not even care that I blew him and Green Peace off to keep walking, and he didn't even care that I did not look back. He was apparently concerned about my attitude moreso than my response to him. That was a completely new feeling for me.

Danes are very different from Americans at their core. By sight, you may not be able to tell the difference, but it is their actions and feelings that are just the opposite of many others. Above all else, I have noticed contentness and trust.

When people say, "Denmark is the happiest country in the world" it is not what you would expect. I expected, as Marli put it, people to walk around 'beaming' all day. Even from my first day on the train, I could tell that is not the case. On the trains, people respect each others' privacy and enjoy their time of quiet and peace. Danes seem not to show their happiness, but feel it. They are content with their lives. For example, taxes in Denmark are rather high and are adjusted based on wealth and income. The money is leveled off to avoid huge income gaps, and people seem to enjoy the lives that they occupy instead of greedily striving after someone else's life.

Trust is a very large part of everyone's lives. Babies in strollers can wait outside while the parents watch from inside. Any American may think that this is crazy... and my host dad Julian put it best, "Who the hell wants to steal a baby?" They trust each other not to steal or rob (except bikes and bike lights, which is apparently completely different). Also, tickets on the trains are not always checked. You are expected to purchase a ticket and check out when you exit the train. Occasionally DSB personnel will walk by to check tickets in peak hours, but not very often. The United States does not have a level of trust nearly as high as Denmark.

On an unrelated note, I wanted to share a quote from my housemate Ian said in jest, but still containing meaning to me while abroad.

"You have to get a bit lost, to get a bit found."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page