top of page

Birthday in Denmark

Yesterday was my birthday. It was my first birthday in another country, and yet I still felt at home. I woke up to a cute display on the table. Sophie made a birthday cake out of pils and Camilla and Julian set up a Danish flag as they do for everyone's birthday in the house. I felt very welcomed and loved having the little celebration in the morning. That was the first day of orientation, which was just a blur of the city. Ian and I went on a little stroll with about 50 lbs of books on our backs with some friends and decided to pass it off as nothing (while quietly complaining to one another). When we returned home, the girls could not wait to give me presents! I opened a warm and cozy sweater as well as a pair of knitting needles and some yarn. "We put you right to work!" Julian says as I open the knitting supplies. The yarn happens to be in the girls' favorite colors... coincidence?

Today was my first snow in Copenhagen. The morning bike ride was spectacular. Cycling in the snow in another country is really a feeling you cannot describe. I'm not just going to school, I'm living here in Denmark.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page