top of page

First day in Denmark

I ended up boarding the plane (which I later found out was my first flight alone) and sat next to this older Danish woman who was visiting family in Boston. The two of us were a mess. Well, at least I was. I couldn't figure out the tray, the lights, the cup for tea, or any of the danish. It was quite obvious that it was my first flight alone, and I'm glad she was subtle about it.

As I got off the plane, I ran into the twin sister of a friend of mine from school. Marli and her roommate Bethany from Gettysberg! It was good to see a familiar face (maybe not a familiar person, but still the face) in another country. From there, everyone was ushered into the hotel lobby across the street. Let the schmoozing begin. And after I had learned everyone's names and learned all of their interests they all left. Everyone's host family picked them up while I was left alone with Lizzy, who I stuck with until I met my housemate Ian, and our family picked us up.

Yesterday I met Camilla and Julian, the most sarcastic couple in the world, but also very kind at heart. After the drive home, I met their two children, Isabel and Sophie. They are too adorable for words or pictures. I have never really spent too much time with younger children (6 and 2, respectively) and I arrived to find Isabel in a Belle princess dress. They are both so cute and sweet, I smile whenever I think of them.

I slept through my alarm and we set out for Copenhagen to take our first tour of the city. I was with Ian and Julian, and we went all over. We went to see DIS, irish pubs, Nyhavn, irish pubs, bycicle shops, irish pubs, theaters, and more irish pubs. They're verywhere. Or at least everywhere Julian knows! When we came back, Julian brought left us at the train station and had us figure out how to cycle back to the house. Trial by fire. We made it alive, but I have not been on a bike in years. I guess that's what driving does to you. And now after a night of football and teaching Isabel how to crochet, we need to get ready for orientation. Hopefully there will be games!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page